Tags

I have an avid appetite for reading.   I have my favourite authors and then I am constantly introduced to new authors either by recommendation or sometimes I am drawn to a book for some unexplained reason.  Fortunately most times I find my instincts are spot-on and I gain both pleasure and learning from the words contained between the covers of books that so often don’t seem to appeal to others.  Remainders are a constant delight to me and I love foraging among recent and old books at second-hand bookshops and Op Shops.

“Dont Sweat the Small Stuff – and it’s all small stuff” by Richard Carlson is one such book that I came across by chance just recently.  Let me quote just a sentence or two.

Humility and inner peace go hand in hand.  The less compelled you are to try to prove yourself to others, the easier it is to feel peaceful inside………. People are drawn to those with a quiet, inner confidence, people who don’t need to make themselves look good, be “right” all the time, or steal the glory.  Most people love a person who doesn’t need to brag, a person who shares from his or her heart and not from his or her ego”.

